Gulf Coast Fleet

When the Gulf Yachting Association selected the Viper 640 as the boat for the interclub Capedeville Championship in 2015 after a rigorous evaluation, the Viper vaulted into the one-design boat of choice for the Gulf Coast region. The Fleet grew from a small handful of boats to over 40 in just 3 years.

Dedicated in 1941 to the memory of Auguste Capdevielle, this trophy is one of the oldest and most prestigious in the Gulf Yachting Association. Auguste Capdevielle served as Commodore-President of the GYA during the years 1936 – 1939. He was also Commodore of the Southern Yacht Club, and for many years served as SYC’s Race Committee Chairman. This is the 77 year of competition between GYA clubs for this championship. There are only two older competitions in the GYA – the Lipton (1920) and the Knost (1938). The Capdevielle trophy and associated banner are presented to the winning club, and awards are also presented to the second and third place clubs.

The Viper is only the third class to be sailed for this historic competition between the 33 yacht clubs of the GYA.

With the growth in both club and privately owned Vipers after the GYA selection, the 2017 Viper 640 Beacon Group North American Championship was held in at Fort Walton YC in Fort Walton Beach, FL. Fifty-four boats raced in the largest Viper regatta in the history of the Class. With the result coming down to the last of 11 races, and only 7 points between the top four boats, the perpetual trophy went to Marcus Eagan of Mandeville, LA. For winning the Viper North American Championship and the NYYC Invitational Cup, Marcus was nominated for the 2017 US Sailing Rolex Yachtsman of the Year award.